ALL YOUR QUESTIONS

Find out everything you need to know about the family office sector in our FAQs. Please feel free to get in touch if you cannot find the information you’re looking for.

NEWSLETTER

What’s the difference between MJ&Cie and a private bank or a wealth manager?

The primary aim of a private bank is to collect and manage its clients’ financial assets, and get them to sign up for their own proprietary products.

Wealth managers, who often have limited resources, serve clients with relatively smaller asset levels and are essentially paid through the financial products that he/she recommends (with riskier products often being more profitable).

An independent family office like MJ&Cie has a uniquely independent advisory role when it comes to wealth management. We are paid on a fee-only basis, providing bias-free perspectives and premium resources to support your strategic decision-making before ensuring that your decisions are executed efficiently and effectively. 

MJ&Cie does not distribute any products itself and acts in the capacity of a purchaser of services (from banks, wealth managers, etc.) designed to implement the strategy defined with each of our clients. Planning to hand down wealth across generations requires a long-term approach, in line with each family’s values.

I already have an accountant, a notary and a lawyer... What can MJ&Cie offer me that they can’t?

A family office is not meant to replace these experts. They are all essential to the client and offer services in their field of expertise.

Our role at MJ&Cie is to ensure overall consistency and coordination between all these experts, while anticipating the implications of the actions they take on the others.

Like an orchestra conductor, MJ&Cie makes sure that your expert professional advisors are working constructively and that the client’s aspirations are fully taken into account.

Family office, single-family office, multi-single-family office – what do all these terms mean, and where does MJ&Cie fit in?

Family offices are advisory firms that oversees their clients’ private wealth structuring, long-term planning and development, and continuously monitor their overall assets. Family offices deal with clients’ short-term concerns and coordinate their long-term strategy with them.
To ensure the utmost objectivity and integrity, a family office like MJ&Cie has to be completely independent.

Single-family offices are a structures set up by a single family. A single-family office only works for its specific family (often large international business dynasties).

Multi-family offices, on the other hand, work for multiple families. In recent years, so-called “multi-family office 2.0” structures have emerged featuring pooled costs and resources, lower prices and standardized services.

MJ&Cie is unique in its positioning as a multi-single-family office. Since 2001, we have advised a select number of clients, each one of which is unique and enjoys entirely personalized support along with dedicated resources.

What else makes MJ&Cie different?

Independence: Certain multi-family offices are subsidiaries of banks or management companies, or are connected to businesses that may add an element of bias their services.

In contrast, MJ&Cie – which is controlled exclusively by our Partners – is able to remain fully objective and neutral.

Transparency: Unlike many businesses that call themselves family offices, MJ&Cie does not distribute any products and has no ties to any service providers (these are systematically selected through calls for proposals). The sole criterion for selecting service providers and products is the client’s best interests. Client fees are MJ&Cie’s sole source of revenue.

Proprietary tools: MJ&Cie has its own quantitative optimization tools and its own asset consolidation platform. We have developed an exclusive customer service process for each of our clients, based on an iterative performance-enhancing methodology.

Expertise: MJ&Cie brings together a powerful skill set. The members of our Advisory Board and our employees are all recognized, experienced specialists. Our multidisciplinary team is steadfastly focused on protecting our clients’ best interests.

International: MJ&Cie works with both French and international clients. To meet their needs, MJ&Cie also has an office in Switzerland, a truly multilingual, multicultural hub renowned for its in-depth expertise in business, currencies, markets and international operations.

So working with a family office means adding another intermediary?

MJ&Cie is a strategic partner for each family, working alongside clients to coordinate and summarize the work of all their regular providers. Like an architect, MJ&Cie safeguards against risks, streamlines services and saves our clients a lot of precious time.

MJ&Cie isn’t an asset manager, right?

If we acted as managers, we couldn’t be totally neutral, objective advisors! We don’t manage assets, but rather to select and continuously oversee asset managers according to our clients’ objectives and asset allocations.

Backed by years of professional investment experience, MJ&Cie’s Asset Monitoring team is ideally placed to conduct and develop relations with asset managers, liaising with clients and ensuring that everything is clear to them.

What kind of services does MJ&Cie offer families?

MJ&Cie helps families achieve their long-term, cross-generational goals through family support, philanthropy, strategic wealth management and investment advisory services, legal and tax planning, and personal administrative services.

Our services help families manage all their assets, while also providing independent insights to help ensure their best interests are being taken into account.

MJ&Cie prepares younger generations for their future responsibilities: each family has its own personalized governance structure.

Aside from our technical expertise, at MJ&Cie we are committed to ensuring that each family’s unique values and history are respected and passed on.

What services does MJ&Cie offer entrepreneurs?

As entrepreneurs themselves, MJ&Cie’s senior executives know how important good management when it comes to securing private interests. Entrepreneurs must be able to focus on developing their business while locking in the value they create. MJ&Cie frees you up from day-to-day asset management concerns, offering an array of solutions that meet your needs (such as personal administrative services, investment execution and monitoring, private equity and club deals).

Do extra services trigger extra costs?

If that were the case, our clients (many of whom have been with us since our inception in 2001) would have left long ago.

MJ&Cie has a fully transparent pricing model, and our only source of revenue is the fees paid by our clients. These fees are set upfront as a package deal to avoid having to constantly review and update the scope of work and pricing. That helps assure each client that MJ&Cie is completely focused on preserving their interests.

Of course, MJ&Cie’s services have a cost. This cost should be measured against the overall organizational optimization, which generates substantial savings; monitoring and negotiating payment terms with service providers; enhanced risk management; and performance that is more in line with each client’s objectives and investor profile. But first and foremost, what we offer is convenience and peace of mind thanks to personalized, professional support in managing all your assets, fully aligned with your interests.

What would be the duration of my contractual commitment?

Working with MJ&Cie makes most sense over the long term. However, as our contract terms are open-ended, clients have the option of terminating the contract at any time, with 3 months’ notice.

Are my assets sufficient to access your services?

It’s more a question of whether our services fit your needs – in terms of family and wealth management, governance, legal, tax and organizational considerations – than about your level of financial assets strictly speaking. As such, while we do have a minimum fee amount, MJ&Cie endeavors to offer fee packages that are in line with each family’s assets. MJ&Cie chooses to work with a limited number of clients in order to ensure highly personalized expertise and a close relationship with each one.

Do you also provide concierge services?

In the interests of efficiency, MJ&Cie does not offer concierge services, which require substantial human and organizational resources. As in other fields, MJ&Cie is happy to identify and select concierge service providers if you require them. However, MJ&Cie does offer personal administrative services including help with administrative management, property management, personnel management, personal accounting and payments, insurance management and more general administrative support services.

In a nutshell, how would you describe MJ&Cie’s core values and what you stand for?

MJ&Cie is deeply committed to ethics, engagement, accountability, respecting each client’s individuality and promoting family harmony.

Our open-mindedness and foresight provide us with the inspiration to propose innovative solutions. We are constantly working to hone our highly responsive professional service delivery.

MJ&Cie is a socially responsible family office. We aim to align everything we do with the principles of the UN Global Compact.

TOUTES VOS QUESTIONS

Découvrez, en quelques questions fondamentales, tout ce qu’il faut savoir sur le métier de family office. Si vous ne trouvez pas la réponse souhaitée, n’hésitez pas à nous contacter.

ABONNEZ-VOUS À NOTRE NEWSLETTER

Quelle différence y a-t-il entre MJ&Cie et une banque de gestion privée ou un conseil en gestion de patrimoine ?

Une banque privée a pour principal objectif de collecter et gérer les actifs financiers des clients, en leur faisant souscrire ses propres produits.
Un conseiller en gestion de patrimoine, disposant souvent de ressources limitées, intervient pour des patrimoines de taille plus réduite et est essentiellement rémunéré sur les produits financiers qu’il propose (les produits risqués étant d’ailleurs souvent les plus rémunérateurs).

Un family office indépendant comme MJ&Cie intervient exclusivement comme conseil sur l’ensemble des enjeux liés à la détention d’un grand patrimoine. Rémunéré en honoraires, il apporte une totale objectivité et des ressources de haut niveau pour accompagner la réflexion stratégique et en superviser ensuite la bonne exécution.
MJ&Cie ne distribue aucun produit, et se positionne comme « acheteur » des prestations (banques, CGP, etc.) nécessaires à la stratégie définie avec chacun de ses clients. L’approche transgénérationnelle s’inscrit dans le long terme, au plus près des valeurs de chaque famille.

J’ai déjà un comptable, un notaire, un avocat… Qu’est-ce que MJ&Cie peut m’apporter de plus ?

Le rôle du family office n’est pas de se substituer aux experts. Tous sont indispensables au client et apportent des réponses dans leur domaine de compétences.

L’intervention de MJ&Cie va permettre de garantir la cohérence globale et la coordination entre tous ces experts, tout en anticipant les conséquences des actions des uns sur les autres.
Le rôle de MJ&Cie, véritable chef d’orchestre, est donc de s’assurer que les experts travaillent dans un esprit constructif et que les aspirations du client sont parfaitement prises en compte.

Family office, mono-family office, multi-mono family office : de quoi s’agit-il et où MJ&Cie se situe-t-il ?

Le family office, société de conseil, assure la structuration, la pérennisation et le développement du patrimoine privé de ses clients. C’est un auditeur permanent du patrimoine global. Le family office décharge ses clients des questions de court terme et les accompagne sur le long terme en jouant un rôle de coordinateur.
Dans un souci d’objectivité et d’intégrité, un family office tel que MJ&Cie est nécessairement une structure totalement indépendante.

Le mono-family office, également dénommé « single-family office », est une structure mise en place par une famille. Le mono-family office ne travaille qu’au service de sa famille (souvent les grandes dynasties industrielles…) à laquelle il est dédié.

Le multi-family office consacre, à l’inverse, son activité à plusieurs familles. Ces dernières années sont apparus des structures se qualifiant de multi-family offices 2.0: mutualisation des coûts et des ressources, prix inférieurs, correspondant du coup à des prestations standardisées.

MJ&Cie est unique dans son positionnement de « multi-mono-family office » : MJ&Cie conseille, depuis 2001, un nombre limité de clients. Chacun est unique et bénéficie d’un accompagnement entièrement sur-mesure, et dispose de ressources dédiées.

Quels sont les autres points de distinction de MJ&Cie sur ce marché ?
L’indépendance : certains multi-family offices sont des filiales d’établissements bancaires ou de sociétés de gestion, ou sont liés à des entités commerciales susceptibles de biaiser leurs prestations.
A l’inverse, MJ&Cie, dont le capital est exclusivement contrôlé par ses associés, a les moyens de rester toujours objectif et neutre.

La transparence : contrairement à beaucoup d’acteurs se revendiquant family offices, MJ&Cie ne distribue aucun produit, n’est lié à aucun prestataire (systématiquement sélectionné sur appel d’offres). Le seul critère de sélection des prestataires et des produits est l’intérêt du client. La rémunération de MJ&Cie provient uniquement des honoraires de ses clients.

Les outils propriétaires : MJ&Cie dispose de ses propres outils quantitatifs d’optimisation et de sa propre plateforme de consolidation d’actifs. MJ&Cie a mis au point un process exclusif de suivi de chacun de ses clients, basé sur une méthodologie itérative source de performance.

L’expertise : MJ&Cie agrège des compétences fortes. Les membres de l’advisory board, comme les collaborateurs, sont tous des spécialistes reconnus et expérimentés. L’équipe pluridisciplinaire est totalement mobilisée vers la préservation des intérêts des clients.

L’international : MJ&Cie accompagne des clients français et internationaux. Pour ce faire, MJ&Cie est également implanté en Suisse, véritable hub multiculturel et polyglotte. La compréhension des affaires, des devises, des marchés et des logiques internationales y est fortement ancrée.

Travailler avec un family office, c’est donc ajouter encore un interlocuteur ?

Véritable partenaire stratégique de la famille, MJ&Cie est aux cotés de ses clients pour coordonner et synthétiser le travail de l’ensemble des intervenants habituels. Tel un architecte et maître d’œuvre, MJ&Cie sécurise les risques, rationalise les prestations et fait gagner beaucoup de temps.

MJ&Cie n’est pas gestionnaire, n’est-ce pas ?

Si MJ&Cie gérait, il ne pourrait pas être un conseiller neutre et objectif ! Son rôle n’est donc surtout pas celui de gérer, mais de sélectionner et de suivre en permanence les gérants en fonction des objectifs et des allocations définies avec les clients.

Forts de carrières dans l’investissement, les membres de l’équipe d’Asset Monitoring de MJ&Cie est parfaitement positionnée pour animer et enrichir les relations avec les gérants, en s’assurant de la bonne compréhension des clients.

Quelles prestations MJ&Cie peut-il apporter aux familles ?

MJ&Cie accompagne les familles fortunées dans une vision de long terme, transgénérationnelle : accompagnement familial, philanthropie, stratégie patrimoniale et d’investissement, structuration juridique et fiscale, secrétariat privé.

Les prestations permettent d’accompagner les familles dans l’administration de l’intégralité de leur patrimoine, de façon bienveillante et indépendante.
MJ&Cie prépare les jeunes générations à leurs responsabilités futures : chaque famille dispose d’une structure de gouvernance personnalisée.

Outre l’expertise technique MJ&Cie, attachée au respect des individualités, veille à la préservation des valeurs et de l’histoire de chaque famille.

Quelles prestations MJ&Cie peut-il apporter aux entrepreneurs ?

Entrepreneurs aussi, les dirigeants de MJ&Cie savent l’importance d’une bonne administration des intérêts privés. Il est essentiel de permettre à l’entrepreneur de se concentrer sur le développement de sa société tout en préservant sa création de valeur. MJ&Cie les décharge donc des contraintes du quotidien lié à leur patrimoine et leur propose des solutions adaptées à leurs attentes (secrétariat privé, investissements et suivis de participations, private equity et club deals…).

Qui dit service complémentaire dit coût supplémentaire ?

Si tel était le cas, les clients fidèles depuis 2001 seraient partis.

MJ&Cie, entièrement transparent en matière de tarification, est exclusivement rémunéré sur honoraires. Ceux-ci sont définis une fois pour toute, de façon globale, de manière à ne pas avoir à rediscuter en permanence du périmètre de la prestations et de la rémunération. C’est le gage, pour chaque client, que MJ&Cie est totalement concentré à la préservation de ses intérêts.

Certes la prestation de MJ&Cie représente une charge. Il convient de mettre en regard l’optimisation globale de l’organisation, qui dégage de fortes économies, la veille et la négociation des modalités de rémunération des prestataires, la meilleure maitrise des risques, et donc des performances plus conformes aux objectifs et au profil d’investisseur. Mais c’est aussi, et surtout, le confort d’un suivi professionnel et sur mesure de l’ensemble des intérêts patrimoniaux, dans le plus parfait alignement d’intérêts.

Combien de temps faut-il s’engager contractuellement ?

La collaboration avec MJ&Cie prend tout son sens dans la durée. Cependant, les contrats étant à durée indéterminée, le client a la possibilité de cesser la collaboration à tout moment avec un préavis de 3 mois.

 

Ai-je un patrimoine suffisant pour avoir accès à ces prestations ?

Il s’agit davantage d’enjeux patrimoniaux et familiaux, de problématiques d’investissement, de gouvernance, juridiques, fiscales ou organisationnelles que de patrimoine financier stricto sensu. MJ&Cie s’attache donc à ce que le montant des honoraires facturés, qui ne peut descendre en deçà d’un certain seuil, demeure cohérent avec la volumétrie du patrimoine familial. MJ&Cie a fait le choix de limiter le nombre de ses clients afin de leur assurer une expertise pointue et une véritable dimension humaine.

Y a-t-il un service de conciergerie ?

Dans un souci d’efficacité, MJ&Cie ne propose pas de services de conciergerie, qui nécessitent d’importantes ressources humaines et organisationnelles. Comme dans les autres domaines, MJ&Cie identifie et sélectionne des prestataires de conciergerie en cas de besoin.  En revanche, MJ&Cie propose une prestation de secrétariat privé incluant une aide à la gestion administrative, la gestion immobilière, la gestion du personnel, la comptabilité privée et les paiements, le suivi des assurances et plus généralement les services de support administratif.

En deux mots, quels principes MJ&Cie défend-il et quels sont ses traits de caractère ?

MJ&Cie est profondément attaché à l’éthique, à l’engagement, à la responsabilité, au respect des individualités et à l’harmonie au sein des familles.

Son ouverture et sa capacité d’anticipation sont source d’innovation. Le professionnalisme et la réactivité qui le caractérisent en sont sans cesse aiguisés.

Œuvrant au service de personnes fortunées, MJ&Cie s’inscrit dans une démarche socialement responsable, avec un fonctionnement basé sur les principes du Pacte mondial de l’ONU.